My Body, My Way: Meet Chasity

 

My Body, My Way is a series dedicated to promoting healthy body images among women. If you’d like to join, please feel free to e-mail me at: chardelaroche@gmail.com.

Age: 25

Ethnicity: African-American

Occupation: Customer Service Representative & Aspiring Blogger 🙂

Body Type: Curvy with a little extra to love
What makes a woman beautiful to you?
“A beautiful woman defines her own standard of beauty. She is liberated from societal standards of beauty and encourages other women to rewrite their own definition of beauty. She is kind and uplifting to herself, as well as others. A beautiful woman loves herself and honors her body with positivity.”

How do you celebrate your body?
“I stopped listening to what others considered “beautiful” or “the perfect size,” and began to embrace my body – flaws and all. It took a while for me understand that my self-worth is not determined by societal standards. I celebrate my body by honoring it with only positive thoughts and words. I work out and go for healthier options. But don’t get me wrong, I’ll probably have a slice of pizza here and there :). Lastly, I celebrate my body by wearing what I want to wear. If it looks good on me please believe I am going to rock it! I believe it is important to define what beauty means to you.”
 
Have you ever dealt with body image issues? How did you handle it?  Or How are you handling it?
“Absolutely. Being a “bigger gal” can be challenging. However, I can confidently mention that I am handling it well. For a long time I had to learn to love myself, wholeheartedly. Middle school and high school was brutal, considering the fact that I was heavier than some of my friends. During college, I began to embrace my body type. I began my self-love journey with my friends and mentors, which is how I combat my body image issues. *Inhales positivity, exhales negativity* It has been a hectic ride but it is so rewarding.”-2.jpg
 
Who are some of your favorite female icons? Why?
GabiFresh,  Ashley Graham and Jhene Aiko (interesting combination, I know lol). I love these wonderful women because of their style, confidence, humility, and most importantly, their representation of defining their own standards of beauty. I admire their fearlessness and boldness. It’s like they organically “stick out” for being a misfit and I love it!”
*The words expressed belong solely to this individual.
I may be a little bias, but Chasity is one of the best up-and-coming bloggers right now! She posts relatable content on a weekly, and sometimes daily basis that caters to lifestyle and beauty. Please visit lifewithchat.com, I’m sure you’ll be surprised by how much you have in common! You can also follow her on Twitter and Instagram @chasitylenae.
Facebook Banner
Published by

Charde' LaRoche

growing.

One thought on “My Body, My Way: Meet Chasity”

  1. I am so grateful to have the opportunity to collaborate with such an inspirational person. Thanks again! I enjoyed writing this post because it was refreshing. I was reminded of my growth. I look forward to working with you in the near future. Sending love! XO

Leave a Reply

