My Body, My Way: Meet Linda

My Body, My Way is a series dedicated to promoting healthy body images among women. If you’d like to join, please feel free to e-mail me at: chardelaroche@gmail.com.

Age: 24

Ethnicity: Asian (Vietnamese)

Occupation: Student

Describe your body type: Hourglass(According to google) lol

  • What makes a woman beautiful to you?

 A lot of women feel the need to meet the superficial standards society has set out for us to be considered beautiful. I don’t agree with that at all. A beautiful woman is a woman who is comfortable in her own skin, despite what society thinks. A woman who is not afraid to show her stretch marks and birth scars because to me those things are battle wounds. A woman battled through weight lost and gain to get those stretch marks. A woman gave birth to another human being to have that scar, so why not embrace it? It’s apart of life and it’s apart of you. Any woman who can embrace her flaws and love her imperfections is a beautiful woman to me.

 

  • Have you ever dealt with body image issues? How did you handle it? Or how are you handling it?

 Absolutely, I think everyone has their own insecurities and for me it has always been my lips. It was hard for me growing up because I was constantly picked on for having full lips. If only I have a dollar for every time when someone ask me “Are you sure you’re not mixe

d with Black?” I’ll be rich. That’s because it is not common for Asians to have full lips. In 2016, beauty has changed so much. People are getting liScreen Shot 2016-04-01 at 11.33.12 AM.png

p injections like it’s going out of style. It’s funny to me because the same girls who used to pick on me are the same ones getting lips injections. I don’t know what prompted the change but I am not complaining about it.

  • How does the ideal image of beauty differ in your culture?

 An ideal image for a woman in Asian culture is slim, tall and very petite. If you’re a bit curvy, then you are considered on the heavy side. You’ll most likely be told to watch what you eat and exercise more often from the people around you. Here in America, it is very different. People here actually embrace curvy women and it’s considered a woman’s ideal image here. There are many people here who would go to the extreme and get plastic surgeries to make their hips wider and butt bigger. Celebrities do it too such as Nicki Minaj.

  • Who are some of your favorite female icons?Why?

 I admire Tianna Gregory. She’s a model and has been modeling for quite sometime now. Aside from her beauty, what I admire most about her is her confidence. She doesn’t have the stereotypical “model body”, however, she

does embrace all of her curves.

*The words expressed belong solely to this individual.

You can follow Linda on Instagram @mslindadao

Facebook Banner

 

 

 

Published by

Charde' LaRoche

growing.

Leave a Reply

