My Body, My Way: Meet Leslie

My Body, My Way is a series dedicated to promoting healthy body images among women. If you’d like to join, please feel free to e-mail me at: chardelaroche@gmail.com. 

Age: 21

Ethnicity: Afro-Caribbean (Bajan)

Occupation: Bookstore Clerk

Describe your body type: petite/slim

  • How do you celebrate your body?

-1.jpgBy feeding it good food, dancing, keeping up with my yoga practice (which helps because our mental/physical/spiritual selves are linked), and getting enough sleep. For me, celebrating my body REALLY happens when I’m taking care of it and not just when I’m in crop tops and shorts. 

  • How does the ideal image of beauty differ in your culture?

Ideally I would assume that the beauty standard at least body wise is an hourglass shape, at varying degrees of exaggeration depending on who you ask. 

  • Did you feel pressured when you were growing up to look a certain way? 

Definitely! I was always quite tiny and bendy, and I definitely dealt with a lot of teasing growing up about being so slim, but then puberty and high school happened and I filled out a little bit. 

  • Who are some of your favorite female icons?Why?

Kelly Rowland because she’s always been a gorgeous dark skinned woman and has finessed the #gloup, Azealia Banks for being an artist, and Cardi B for her unapologetic lifestyle. 

*The words expressed belong solely to this individual.

You can follow Leslie on Instagram @acleverghost.

Facebook Banner

Published by

Charde' LaRoche

growing.

Leave a Reply

